lewis hamilton 2008 F1 Champion

Lewis Hamilton Wins 2008 F1 Drivers Championship: Massa Wins Brazil GP

The 2008 Formula 1 drivers’ Championship went down to the final two corners of the  final race in an unbelievable finish to the season. All Hamilton needed for the title was a fifth place or better. Massa needed to win to be in with his own chance. Massa crossed the line in first while Hamilton was in sixth place. It looked like the second straight title for Ferrari and a fairytale ending to the season by Felipe in front of his hometown crowd—but not so. Rain in the final three laps sent drivers scrambling for the pits. Massa and Hamilton came out the way they came in—in 1st and 5th. A second to last lap charge by Sebastian Vettel relegated Hamilton to sixth. It looked like Massa had the title when he took the checkers all the way to Hamilton’s last turn but Timo Glock, still on slicks on the wet track, had to concede his fourth position right there giving Lewis the title. An amazing way to finish the season, topping even last year’s Brazillian GP. Full race details at [Formula1.com]

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

News, Racing

, , , , , , , , ,